The Hague - Design and Government

Every dot represents a person who visited this site.
The colour and sound are determined by your unique ip-address.

newsletter rss-feed twitter facebook

Sorry, you need to install flash to see this content.

The current European flag is since 1986 the symbol for all European institution. But the design dates back to 1955, when the German Arsène Heitz designed the flag for the Council of Europe, established in 1949. Twelve is a symbol of perfection, completeness and unity (think about the months, hours and the zodiac). The circle is amongst all the symbol of unity and equality.

Rem Koolhaas proposed in 2001, at the request of the European Commission, this European barcode. The design exists of the colours of the flags of the European countries.

Graphic designer Hans Kruit about his proposal for a new European flag (2005): ,,The stars we change in one solid circle... A clear symbol, a nice round EurO.”

Call for entries: a new symbol for Europe

Call for entries: a new symbol for Europe


The current European flag with its twelve identical yellow stars placed in a circle on a blue field, was designed in 1955. Since then Europe has changed. About 30 million people from Middle Eastern, African and Asian origins are living and working in Europe. Besides these new cultures, the inter European immigration creates a new mix of cultures as well. In the last 50 years Europe has become a very fine maze of identities. What is the identity of this cultural, economical and dynamic Europe with its diversity in cultures, languages, traditions and believes? And what is the perception on Europe, from within and from the outside? How would a new symbol for Europe look like? Should it be one symbol? Or more?

All entries submitted before March 1, 2010, will be judged by an international jury during the month of March 2010. In two rounds, 12 designs will be selected by the jury. All submissions will be kept anonymously till the selection is made. The 12 selected designs will be announced in June 2010; the designers will be notified in May 2010. The jury’s decisions are final.